Monday-Friday 8:30am-4:00pm. No appointment is necessary.
There is an evening hour for civil union licenses ONLY on Mondays
(Excluding Holidays), 7:00PM-8:00PM, September through June. Please
call the Health Department to make sure there will be someone available
on that particular Monday evening.
Do not sign the civil union application form before going to the Local
Registrar. You must sign the application, while under oath, in the
presence of the issuing authority.
The Civil Union application can be accessed on the Web at:
Requirements for entering into a Civil Union
For two people to establish a civil union in New Jersey, they must
satisfy all of the following requirements:
a. Not be a party to another civil union, domestic partnership or
marriage in this state or that is recognized by this state*;
b. Be of the same sex ; and
c. Be at least 18 years of age, except that applicants under 18 may
enter into a civil union with parental consent. Applicants under age 16
must obtain parental consent and have the consent approved in writing by
any judge of the Superior Court, Chancery Division, Family Part.
* Same sex couples who meet the above requirements and are registered as
domestic partners may enter into a civil union with the same person
without terminating their domestic partnership first. If the domestic
partnership was registered in New Jersey, it automatically terminates
when the civil union is registered. If the domestic partnership was
registered in another state, that state's laws determine the impact on
the domestic partnership. A couple that has previously entered into a
civil union or a same-sex marriage shall apply for a Reaffirmation of
Civil Union License.
WHERE TO APPLY
1. You may apply in the New Jersey municipality in which either
person resides. The license is valid throughout the state.
2. If neither applicant lives in New Jersey, submit the application
in the municipality where the civil union ceremony will be performed.
The license is only valid in the issuing municipality.
What you should bring with you when you apply for a Civil Union license:
1. If you are divorced, have had a previous civil union dissolved,
domestic partnership terminated or have had a civil union annulled,
please bring the decree(s) or the civil annulment documents.
2. If your former spouse/civil union or domestic partner is deceased,
please bring the death certificate,
3. A copy of your birth certificate, driver's license, passport or
4. Proof of your residency.
5. Your social security card or social security number.*
6. A witness, 18 years of age or older.
7. The $28 application fee.
*Your social security number is required by law and will be kept
confidential. Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.
|< Prev||Next >|